Author Topic: fuel pressure sensor(s)  (Read 294 times)

Offline noslin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 0.00
  • Your Engine: none
  • Your Track: none
  • Your Vehicle: none
  • General Location: west coast
fuel pressure sensor(s)
« on: September 24, 2017, 09:36:18 PM »
where would you install fuel pressure sensor(s) on blown setup and  general purpose on n/a setup.   would it be beneficial to run more then one sensor, if so where would you put the additional sensors?   

Offline 32bantam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
    • SS3 Race Team
  • Your Best Time: 6.87 at BG 2013 aiming for 7.0
  • Your Track: Empire Dragway, NY
  • Your Vehicle: 32 Bantam altered
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 05:26:44 AM »
I have mine on the output side of the K-valve. I want to know what pressure the nozzles and poppets  are seeing.
Steve Walczak

Offline glofria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.323 @ 185.05
  • Your Engine: A blown 388 c.i. Small Block Chevy
  • Your Track: Auto Club Famoso Raceway
  • Your Vehicle: An original 1957 Chevy Bel-Air
  • General Location: Southern California
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 10:17:17 AM »
We drilled and tapped the plug on the distribution block at the back of the Enderle Hat for the same reason 32bantum did.

Offline noslin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 0.00
  • Your Engine: none
  • Your Track: none
  • Your Vehicle: none
  • General Location: west coast
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2017, 03:44:16 PM »
We drilled and tapped the plug on the distribution block at the back of the Enderle Hat for the same reason 32bantum did.

i talked to guy this weekend and asked about FP sensor location.  i asked about the distribution block. he said that his data log showed a lot of fluctuation here.  i think they do as 32bantam does. 

do you see any fluctuations on your logs if you have a logger?   im guessing it might be pulses from cylinder fill.  idk, just a guess.  you would think there would be consistent pressure there but that distribution block is feeding 8 cyl so could be some pulsing maybe

ty
dean

Offline ricardo1967

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: No full pass yet.
  • Your Engine: Alky SBC 400
  • Your Track: Brown County Dragway (Bean Blossom, IN)
  • Your Vehicle: 173" FED
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2017, 04:35:14 PM »
We drilled and tapped the plug on the distribution block at the back of the Enderle Hat for the same reason 32bantum did.

i talked to guy this weekend and asked about FP sensor location.  i asked about the distribution block. he said that his data log showed a lot of fluctuation here.  i think they do as 32bantam does. 

do you see any fluctuations on your logs if you have a logger?   im guessing it might be pulses from cylinder fill.  idk, just a guess.  you would think there would be consistent pressure there but that distribution block is feeding 8 cyl so could be some pulsing maybe

ty
dean

Mechanical constant flow fuel injection... I expect no pressure pulsing.

Offline JrFuel Hayden

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
    • Hayden Enterprises Speciality Wheels
  • Your Best Time: 6.02, 236 mph, 1/4 in 1973 Div 3 TF Champ
  • Your Engine: SBC, Alky, 403 ci, Best 6.99 @ 190 & 409 Hemi
  • Your Track: Bakersfield
  • Your Vehicle: 225" FED NHRA Heritage Jr Fuel
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2017, 10:29:17 PM »
I don't run a blower, but if it helps, my fuel pressure sensor is on my pump right after the fuel shut-off, between the shut off and the barrel valve.
If you are not sure, call your computer company, RacePak, RPM, or ?
Jon
Jon C. Hansen

Hayden Wheels

Offline glofria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.323 @ 185.05
  • Your Engine: A blown 388 c.i. Small Block Chevy
  • Your Track: Auto Club Famoso Raceway
  • Your Vehicle: An original 1957 Chevy Bel-Air
  • General Location: Southern California
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2017, 08:31:00 AM »
Dean,

Yes you will see pulsing, but that can be even out by inputting the correct frequency that the sensor is designed for. I don't know about other systems, but we use an early version of the Edelbrock QuikData (Serial #0014) which allows you to adjust the frequency.

While I am comfortable using this system, I would recommend an RPM Performance Data Logger because it is cost effective and the after sales service is outstanding.

Offline ricardo1967

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: No full pass yet.
  • Your Engine: Alky SBC 400
  • Your Track: Brown County Dragway (Bean Blossom, IN)
  • Your Vehicle: 173" FED
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2017, 09:59:13 AM »
Dean,

Yes you will see pulsing, but that can be even out by inputting the correct frequency that the sensor is designed for. I don't know about other systems, but we use an early version of the Edelbrock QuikData (Serial #0014) which allows you to adjust the frequency.

While I am comfortable using this system, I would recommend an RPM Performance Data Logger because it is cost effective and the after sales service is outstanding.
Gino,
What would cause the fuel pressure pulses? Pump impeller?

Offline gregm784

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Means Racing
  • Your Engine: 387 Dart/Brodix
  • Your Track: Famoso Raceway
  • Your Vehicle: 1997 Stirling 200" FED
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2017, 11:02:37 AM »
I can't imagine that because there is so much line after the pump to absorb the pulses. 
Greg
El Dorado County, CA
www.meansracing.com

Offline glofria

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.323 @ 185.05
  • Your Engine: A blown 388 c.i. Small Block Chevy
  • Your Track: Auto Club Famoso Raceway
  • Your Vehicle: An original 1957 Chevy Bel-Air
  • General Location: Southern California
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2017, 11:31:28 AM »
It could also be that the reading are recorded every 1/1000 per second. I really don't remember and we really could be splitting hairs here. I will have to look a the laptop later tonight and get a screen shot of a run.

Another way to verify fuel pressure is to have mechanical 0-200 psi gauge with a one way check valve.

Offline noslin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 0.00
  • Your Engine: none
  • Your Track: none
  • Your Vehicle: none
  • General Location: west coast
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2017, 12:23:06 PM »
im using Motec dash logger. The person i was speaking too uses Race Pack setup.   

on the Motec you can apply a filter and set the logging rate too from 1hz to 1000hz for each channel. 

with the EFI, some car us a dampner on the fuel rail as the pulses from injectors will cause fluctuations.  with EFI injector, its opening and closing creating the pulses.  on MFI, even at the distribution, its a constant flow corrrect?  so, it shouldnt see pulses assuming?   if it is, where/how are they created.  is the valve opening events enough to do this on a plenum setup?  i could see on individual runner maybe?

ty
dean

Offline GlennLever

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1891
    • View Profile
    • The Lever Family Site
  • Your Best Time: 1/4 mile 7.950 at 165 MPH
  • Your Engine: Pontiac 461 Alky Blown
  • Your Track: Empire Dragway, NY
  • Your Vehicle: Front Engine Dragster
Re: fuel pressure sensor(s)
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2017, 02:49:18 PM »
Mine is in the distribution block
Glenn R. Lever
Rochester, New York 14617-2012
My Cars https://www.lever-family-racing.com/