Author Topic: Recent New Guy here  (Read 10319 times)

Offline RacinJacin

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 9.30's
  • Your Track: Thompson
  • Your Vehicle: FED
Recent New Guy here
« on: November 01, 2014, 02:48:02 PM »
Well I jumped in with a couple posts, but I should have done an intro so here it is:

I'm a hands on engineer (day job) who happens to love drag racing and other mechanical things and at night I love toying around in the garage running the mill, lathe, welder, etc.

I guess around 12 years ago I realized I wasn't getting any younger and I NEEDED a Front Engine Dragster and since no one was gonna give me one I had only 1 option...BUILD IT.   Naturally I knew nothing about them but was lucky enough to run across a bunch of people willing to share their wisdom with me (I see a few of them here - Rooman is one, Hanna is another, plus many more) anyways with their help I was able to construct my very first VERY LOW budget genuine front engine dragster.  Sure it took several years because I am stubborn and HAD to have certain things - like a hand formed aluminum body and of course I knew nothing about those either so there were several learning curves involved here!  Any ways a svelt 7 years later it was done (ok not really done, but close enough to drive).  I got the chassis certified and we were on our way.
I built pretty much every part of this car and "wasted" who knows how many hours machining parts I could have easily purchased, but didn't really have to money to buy so all in all it worked out pretty good.
I've been running the car for 5 or 6 years now (who knows maybe longer) and have been having an absolute blast with it!!!  Surely not the fastest car on the planet, but durable and affordable for my tight budget!