Author Topic: bleeding brakes  (Read 5431 times)

Offline hotrodharley

• View Profile
  • Your Engine: 540 BBC/12-71 BLOWER/26%OD/PG TRANS/4;10 GEARS
  • Your Track: GOODTIMES DRAG STRIP
  • Your Vehicle: FUEL ALTERED
bleeding brakes
« on: March 20, 2014, 12:15:04 PM »
i have a CNC master cly with M/W duel piston brake claipers [has bleeder on bottom and one on top of caliper]i'm not able to get brakes to bleed..i started out bleed at M/C then at right top and left top then right bottom and last l bottom..not getting any brake pressure at all at bleeders;;everything is new;;am i bleeding wrong or starting at wrong place..been doing brakes on stock cars and hot rods for 50 yrs and never had a probluminum bleeding brakes;;;;the way i bleeding[new way i just started doing a yr ago]is i loosen bleeder and have someone push brake pedel down slow till hits floor and holds there till i tighten bleeder.then he releases pedel back to top..keeping doing this way..has aways worked for me this way on stock calipers with only 1 bleeder per caliper..am  way i'm doing doesn't work with the 4 bleeders[top/bottom of calipers]?
"DARK SIDE" AA/fuel altered
"BADTOYZZ RACING
SPRING CREEK NV

dreracecar

Re: bleeding brakes
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2014, 12:56:41 PM »
The 4 bleeders are for inventory so you dont have to stock lefts and rights, only use the top bleeders as mounted.
 Bench bleed the master.  Master in a vice and pump fluid/piston by hand till it flows out the fitting and cap. re-install in car and hook up the lines. Bleed the caliper furthest away from the master starting with the outer bleed screw and then the inner, then go to the next caliper agian the outer screw then the inner. Repeat bleeding sequence of the calipers till you are satisfyed that there is no air left in the system.  Leave the bottom bleeder screws alone.

Offline hotrodharley

• View Profile
  • Your Engine: 540 BBC/12-71 BLOWER/26%OD/PG TRANS/4;10 GEARS
  • Your Track: GOODTIMES DRAG STRIP