Author Topic: Adding a blower to a 13:1 engine  (Read 24252 times)

Offline Big Rhino

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: no runs yet
  • Your Track: Gulfport
  • Your Vehicle: 225" FED
Adding a blower to a 13:1 engine
« on: September 29, 2013, 01:31:03 AM »
I am getting ready to add a 10:71 and alcohol injection to my 412 sbc.  Dart block, iron eagle heads and currently running 13:1 compression.  Is this too much?  Do I really need to drop down to a lower static compression?  This will be my "trial by fire" as this is my first time dealing with a blown engine.  Are mls gaskets OK with this set-up?
Thanks for any input!

Offline Frontenginedragsters

• View Profile
    • Pro-Formance Specialties
Re: Adding a blower to a 13:1 engine
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 05:29:34 PM »
In my opinion:
 13 to 1 static compression is too high.
You will find with that much compression that it will be VERY timing / tuning sensitive.
Its like trying to walk on a fence. You can do it but you have to be on your game.
11 to 1 was always considered a safer place to start. 8)
MLS gaskets have no place on a supercharged alcohol engine.
SCE copper is the best way to go.
My opinion: Matt
Driving a Front Engine Dragster builds character and keeps you awake for a 1/4 mile at a time.
http://www.pro-formancespecialties.com/

Offline ricardo1967

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: No full pass yet.
  • Your Engine: Alky SBC 400
  • Your Track: Brown County Dragway (Bean Blossom, IN)
  • Your Vehicle: 173" FED
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 09:16:44 PM »
Matt, I agree with you, but... can you please elaborate this part?

...MLS gaskets have no place on a supercharged alcohol engine.
SCE copper is the best way to go.

Offline Big Rhino

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2013, 03:12:13 AM »
Many thanks Matt,
This is the kind of info I'm looking for.  I want to do it right the FIRST time.  11:1 it is, and I guess I'd better go swap out my gaskets!!  Thanks again,
Tom