Author Topic: MIG welded mild steel chassis ??  (Read 6283 times)

Offline Mr Froggy

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 12.23 1/4 mile
  • Your Track: Thunder Valley
  • Your Vehicle: 68 Dodge Coronet 500
MIG welded mild steel chassis ??
« on: June 16, 2013, 08:45:38 AM »
Hi Guys, I'm new here and enjoy the sight!  I've always loved Rails and after years of racing door slammers and just turning 50 I figured If I'm gonna do it there's no time like the present.

I'm a good welder and fabricator but have just started TIG welding.  That being said my plan is to build a simple, single carbed dragster to start with.  Will most tracks allow a mild steel Mig welded chassis?  I see the SFI 2.6A is for 7.99 and slower but I imagine that requires a TIG welded Moly chassis.  My thought is that if I keep it under 10 seconds I should be fine and if I did go faster than the 10s I'd want a Moly chassis anyway.

Thanks for your input.

Offline masracingtd1167

• bill masiello Shelton Ct.
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.40's at 181 on motor 6.94 at 192 nitrous
  • Your Engine: 394 chevy
  • Your Track: Lebanon Valley Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 2003 Neil and Parks
Re: MIG welded mild steel chassis ??
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2013, 09:42:33 AM »
I would have to say if you are going to build it why not use chrome moly . It is lighter because of the wall thickness and a whole lot safer . if you are good at mig welding I am shure you can be a good tig welder . Now get to work on that car!

Offline 225digger

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.43 185 mph in a RED
  • Your Track: numidia
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 12:18:45 PM »
10 seconds or less dont require a chassis cert . so as long as it meets the SFI specs you should be good to go  .....

Offline wideopen231

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 1/8 3.70@ 198 1/4 5.78@245
  • Your Engine: Hemi 526 ci alcohol
  • Your Track: Piedmont
  • Your Vehicle: 225 CMC FED
  • General Location: NORTH CAROLINA