Author Topic: Brake Fluid Question  (Read 709 times)

Offline lake_harley

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.06 @99.58 - 1/8 mi.
  • Your Engine: Carbureted, gas mild 305 Chevy
  • Your Track: Jeffers Motorsports Park - Sikeston, MO
  • Your Vehicle: 145" FED
  • General Location: SE Missouri
Brake Fluid Question
« on: February 22, 2023, 06:35:38 PM »
As I close in on the last few items on finishing my FED, I'm ready to fill and bleed the brakes. I have a Strange Engineering master cylinder P.N. B3362 like this:    https://www.strangeengineering.net/product/dragster-master-cylinder-reservoir-777-primary.html/

On their website it states that silicone brake fluid is not recommended. I'll live with using DOT3 if I have to but I wonder why no DOT5 silicone fluid? I use DOT5 on my 2 hot rods and have no complaints.

When I was looking into DOT5 fluid for my hot rods (T roadster and Model A Coupe) I did find mentions of a "soft" pedal and difficulty bleeding the system since bubbles of air are very slow to rise out of the fluid. I've never had those issues on my cars.

I'd prefer to use DOT5 since it doesn't destroy paint and my brake bleeders are not real easy to get to once the body side panels are on. If I must use DOT3 (or whatever) I will, but I wonder what the reason might be for Strange's recommendation. I've tried to reach their tech service through messages and an e-mail but never received any reply. So.....does anyone have any experience with that master cylinder or know what the reason might be to not use silicone fluid in it?

Thanks. You gentlemen always come through with answers to my silly questions, and I appreciate it!

Lynn.

Offline denverflatheader

• View Profile
Re: Brake Fluid Question
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2023, 12:26:03 PM »
From Strange dated August 26, 2021 - Master Cylinder page 1 of 3