Author Topic: School me on early 60's correct drives for FED's  (Read 5372 times)

Offline Shaggy

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: none
  • Your Engine: olds rocket, gasoline, 329ci (303 block)
  • Your Track: None
  • Your Vehicle: None
  • General Location: NW
School me on early 60's correct drives for FED's
« on: January 17, 2018, 06:47:38 PM »
I'm looking at compiling parts for an early 60's correct FED build, I'm trying to decide what i should go drive wise. I have a blown, injected 329" early olds that was ran back in the day. What do you guys think about options for period correct drives.

Here are my current options, but i might go other stuff, but my cutoff is around '63 vintage. Also i'm a machinist so i can make anything work if i want to

-Set up a direct drive
-39 box built to race specs(Chassis research had a good article back in the day, including annealing and copper plating the gears, and i have 15 or so transmissions to pick from)
-cad lassale box(again, would need to rebuild it to race specs)
-race prepped olds hydro(i have one including modified fluid coupler, and 1/2 a dozen stockers for parts)

Offline Calkins

• On Any Sunday
    • View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 1/8th Mile - 5.77 @ 117
  • Your Track: Humboldt, IA - Humboldt County Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 1997 Canode 225" Ex-Nostalgia Top Fueler
  • General Location: Midwest
Re: School me on early 60's correct drives for FED's
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 06:01:12 AM »