Author Topic: injected sbc hard to start  (Read 5085 times)

Offline 421Altered

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 5.09 in 1/8th
  • Your Engine: alky injected 421sbc
  • Your Track: Adel, Ga.
  • Your Vehicle: 125" Altered
  • General Location: South Georgia
injected sbc hard to start
« on: December 10, 2016, 08:34:58 AM »
I'm a newbie to this site, but, I have checked all posts and can't find anyone having the problem I'm having.  Here it is, I've got a 421 sbc injected alky altered.  After I shut it down in the staging lanes, then when restarting, it revs up to maybe 3000 rpm, then immediately slows down to about 3-400 rpm,  it just barely runs, then, it will come up on the pump and run fine.  I think that my idle check valve which is set to 2psi is maybe leaking fuel past it because it's at the very bottom of my tank which is at the bottom of my chassis.  Can anyone help me with this?

Offline Curly1

• View Profile
    • AireTex Compressors
  • Your Best Time: 7.95 @ 167 1/4 mile
  • Your Track: Texas Motorplex
Re: injected sbc hard to start
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2016, 12:15:32 PM »
Welcome to the site it is almost like already know you. Mine does not start easy and I built a primer system to help it. Turn on primer pump for a few seconds, hit starter and it starts but idles high until it comes on the pump. Then the RPM will drop and I shut off primer pump.

Offline 421Altered

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2016, 03:15:05 PM »