Author Topic: Direct drive  (Read 11846 times)

Ponti

Direct drive
« on: February 08, 2016, 01:09:23 PM »
Hi guys, wondering if anyone can help.

Still thinking of different trans ideas, on a clutch car how can can you set up a direct drive but still include a reverse gear.  Engines a blown SBC on methanol 9" rear.  How would a direct drive stand up to today's prep'd tracks and newer tyre compounds.

Offline Paul New

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 6.47 @ 214 MPH SBC
  • Your Engine: 387" SBC
  • Your Track: Woodburn Dragstrip
  • Your Vehicle: 2005 FED
Re: Direct drive
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 01:12:02 PM »
these guys have been doing it for years
http://www.nwntea.org/index.php?page=home
7.60's at 190-200mph they are slow off the line but really get moving no issues from track prep

Offline bikeguy307

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2016, 04:42:49 PM »
I have no experience with a direct drive clutch unit. The concept is simple, a slipper clutch through a reverser box to the rear end. We have a few Pro 7.0 and Pro 7.5 guys running this set up. Some are blown methanol, others are injected nitro.

Offline sknopp

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.008@215 on 7.00 Index
  • Your Track: Bowling Green
  • Your Vehicle: 1969 MW 214" FED
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2016, 09:55:49 AM »
Like Dan said, for reverse just bolt a Lenco reverse unit onto the back of the clutch can.  If you don't get one with a neutral position you will need to fabricate a "clutch stick" to hold down the pedal to move the car without a driver. 

I can tell you from experience that with a pedal clutch and a blown alky small block you will not be happy with a direct drive setup if you intend to race it.  You will not make enough power to get it to launch well.  With my 417 Donovan I started to notice gains when I put 25% nitro in the tank.  Ran the 7.50 class using 45-50%, and 7.0 class at 65%.