Author Topic: what rear cam and gear with bbc  (Read 6094 times)

Offline crider

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 5.01
  • Your Engine: BBC
  • Your Track: farmington, Nc
  • Your Vehicle: in progress
  • General Location: south east
what rear cam and gear with bbc
« on: January 01, 2016, 01:49:38 PM »
Hi, new guy here. I just bought a chassis from David Beard and I'm starting to gather parts for the build. I'm using what I had around for as much of it as possible. The engine is going to be a 511bbc, 4.375 bore x 4.250 stroke. Tall deck truck block. Ported cheapo pro-line heads. I'll be doing mostly 1/8 mile racing in my area. Looking for some cam and gear suggestions. I've drag raced off and on for years, but this is my first time running anything this lightweight. Thanks for any input   

Offline dusterdave173

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 5.38in 1/8th
  • Your Engine: 355 CI SBC
  • Your Track: Mooresville, NC
  • Your Vehicle: CenPen 200 inch FED
Re: what rear cam and gear with bbc
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2016, 03:38:10 PM »
Start with rear tire height but usually in big block it comes down to a 4.10 range gear
That many CI will love something in the 280/285 at 050 and make enough torque to flip it over twice
You running Stack injection or TR and Hat?  Keep CR up at least 13.5 and more is always better--on gas engines folks have heck of a time jetting with high compression and can toast parts easy-- but on alky it is easy as pie--  14:1 and up runs real good! That combo will be a beast---lighter cars like these are very forgiving with converters-loose is good--real loose is good too! Crazy loose still works good! Slap about any 8 in you have in there and go for it