Author Topic: Changing cases and have questions on drilling modifications  (Read 5506 times)

Offline FEDNV

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 7.65 @ 175mph - 1/4
  • Your Engine: 560 BBC
  • Your Track: Sacramento
  • Your Vehicle: 185" FED
Changing cases and have questions on drilling modifications
« on: December 09, 2015, 06:31:41 AM »
So I cracked my case and a friend gave me his good old case (he switched to aftermarket case) and while inspecting it before putting my parts into his case I found some differences.
Let me also say I am no expert on automatic transmissions and this is my first teardown and rebuild. This is a full manual valve body powerglide going into a FED.

First I see that his case has a hole plugged that I have read needs to be enlarged with its corresponding hole on the bottom of the case.

old case

He had this in a drag car so I do not know why this would be plugged. Can anyone tell me why this was plugged and should I drill this out? It was drilled out on my old case. Are there any other modifications I should do or can do to a stock case to make it better?

This is from some of the instructions I found online on what to drill.

Also, I found this in the bottom of the pan. The internals have about 20 passes and when we took it apart it took 6 full turns to tighten the band. Is this band material since it was so loose?  We inspected all the clutches and they still look new and the band does not look bad.

Thanks
Scott

Offline bikeguy307

• View Profile
Re: Changing cases and have questions on drilling modifications
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 10:07:47 AM »