Author Topic: Solid SBC Heads  (Read 4114 times)

Offline digster

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 8.01 1/4
  • Your Engine: Hilborn Injected 427 SBC (Methanol)
  • Your Track: Top End Raceways, Sabin Mn
  • Your Vehicle: 1970 190 inch FED
Solid SBC Heads
« on: October 07, 2015, 05:39:35 PM »
I recently purchased a set of used Brodix -12 Solid heads. Frankenstein Cylinder Head Works has done a ton of port work on these heads They flow  over 40 CFM more than my old - 12 water heads. I was running a gravity / static non circulating water system on the old heads. I'm new to running a solid dry head. I was thinking of plumbing a water line between the center exhaust ports. Is it necessary?
« Last Edit: October 07, 2015, 08:46:31 PM by digster »

Offline BK

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 8.45 / 5.30
  • Your Track: Empire Dagway
  • Your Vehicle: Late 70's FED
Re: Solid SBC Heads
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 04:31:52 AM »
I don't know that you need it. But if you decide you do, I would think you would want to tap the back of the block and let water out that way also.

Offline George

• View Profile
  • Your Vehicle: 1964 Mercury Comet Super Stock/ M automatic
  • General Location: Midwest USA
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2015, 06:34:01 AM »
I'm curious ? Solid heads have passages for coolant?

dreracecar

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2015, 08:36:55 AM »
If one has water jacket heads then one must circulate water, Solid heads might last a little longer because of mass but the heat in that area is still wearing away at the heat treat and anealing it.
 If I were to do it again, I would order raw water castings and weld/plug all the water holes and then heat treat and machine the head. Best of both worlds

Offline digster

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 8.01 1/4
  • Your Engine: Hilborn Injected 427 SBC (Methanol)
  • Your Track: Top End Raceways, Sabin Mn
  • Your Vehicle: 1970 190 inch FED
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2015, 04:55:41 PM »