Author Topic: Quick Release Steering Hub  (Read 4448 times)

Offline 1916Racer

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: N/A
  • Your Track: Amarillo Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 1959 Dragmaster/In The Works
Quick Release Steering Hub
« on: August 02, 2015, 07:24:01 PM »
I have a 1959-60 98 inch Dragmaster I'm restoring. Was there a type of Quick Release Steering Hub used on Dragsters back during this time. If people were making their own would anyone have a picture of one. It's a tight squeeze fitting in this thing, but I want to keep it period correct. Thanks Charles.

Offline Paul New

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 6.47 @ 214 MPH SBC
  • Your Engine: 387" SBC
  • Your Track: Woodburn Dragstrip
  • Your Vehicle: 2005 FED
Re: Quick Release Steering Hub
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2015, 08:29:22 PM »
I would say no drivers were the skinniest guy at the track typically at least from the pics I have seen.... Lol to young to have been around

Offline BK

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 8.45 / 5.30
  • Your Track: Empire Dagway
  • Your Vehicle: Late 70's FED
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2015, 08:32:14 PM »
Not sure what your wheel looks like. Sometimes if you turn them 90 degrees it will make it easier to get in.

Offline LZ

• View Profile
  • Your Engine: In progress
  • Your Track: Empire Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 2010 225" S&W
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2015, 03:59:47 AM »
This question brought something to mind. It was awhile ago at some race whilst looking around pits there was this car Altered or dragster ??? , cant recall. But I vividly remember the wheel up on cowl.  It had a socket welded to it and there was either a Hex head screw or some hex stock welded to steering shaft.
People now would go what a hack , but that is just the way it was back then. There was no Summit or Jegs, Cheap Chinese parts. Internet. cell phones  :) ;) :D ;D

good luck keep us up to date.
Luke
"I am not a number.... I am a free man."

Offline rooman

• View Profile