Author Topic: How much toe in on fed 1/8"? & fire system location info please  (Read 4159 times)

Offline imcamod17

• View Profile
  • Your Track: Muncie Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 200" Hal Canode FED
How much toe in on fed 1/8"? & fire system location info please
« on: February 25, 2015, 02:35:24 PM »
I just wanted to verify how much toe I need to put in my new fed. I have been driving circle track for 20 years and I am used to 1/8" toe out. So 1/8" toe in just sounds funny. Anyone. And where is a good place to install a fire system, way out front or behind the seat (pros and cons)? ??? Thanks

Offline fuel749

• View Profile
    • Dragster Supply
  • Your Track: New England Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: FED/Altered
Re: How much toe in on fed 1/8"? & fire system location info please
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2015, 05:45:22 AM »
1/8" toe in is a good place to start. Fire bottle location can be tricky because you might use them to balance the car, which is to say that you might start out with them at the front then try them in the back and end up with them up front again. Its one of those questions with no right answer.

Offline dusterdave173

• View Profile
  • Your Best Time: 5.38in 1/8th
  • Your Engine: 355 CI SBC
  • Your Track: Mooresville, NC
  • Your Vehicle: CenPen 200 inch FED
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2015, 08:41:48 AM »
I went through this and started with 1/8th
Turns out that main deal is squaring it all to the rear tires
I ran string down both side "just touching" slick sidewalls ( correct tire pressure )
Un hooked my tie rod
squared the left front to the left rear then locked steering in place with clamp
the squared right front to rr slick  measuring from front of rim then rear of rim using 3 and 9 o clock positions
measure from wheel rim to the string
Then lock that wheel in place
now install tie rod--recheck everything
It was easy to set toe by measuring from the sting to the front wheel rim

when I set toe any other way it did not come out right