Author Topic: Engine -Rear alignment  (Read 8893 times)

Offline LZ

• View Profile
  • Your Engine: In progress
  • Your Track: Empire Dragway
  • Your Vehicle: 2010 225" S&W
Engine -Rear alignment
« on: January 30, 2015, 06:49:09 PM »
Hi Roo:
Say a question for you and hopefully this will be some good info for our friends here also.
Disclaimer.  I am not good at putting thoughts to words and am sorry for any misspelled words or Grammar. Tried to sumize this as much as possible. Dimensions taken with cold gloved hands. LOL
Of info:
Bought a 2010 S&W 225” FED a few months ago. It had a BBC and glide set up. 9“ with a 12 bolt center section. Motor out 43”.
I am putting in a little whale with a glide behind.
To get a good baseline start on making a new engine plate. Figured to check the car as it came. I took a Chevy block and put it into car with original engine plate. Have a pc of 2 “ TGP shafting for an alignment bar. The rear is all set up and just figured to see how it measured off the coupler on rear.
Upon getting it all together slid the shaft back to the coupler and could see its visually off.
Over the last few days upon getting home from work have measured  as many ways as I could to get a good set of data points. Try to get figures to back others up. Also check by loading weight to chassis to see what influence that may have had. Also if another way to check came to my simple brain given some time to ponder it.
Also I was able to get a few minutes on the CMM at work to check the Engine plate in car now to get good baseline numbers with relative from the engine dowels to the frame rail saddle. Was surprised that the Dowels Datum plane with relative to the saddle in hight dimension were within less the .003 “ at local and the side to side dimension, (er to speak the dowels , relative to crank CL) was within .002 at local. It is a water jetted Ό 6061 plate.

Here seems to be my numbers that I have some reasonable confidence in.